Christian Beach rings in New Year with ‘Basement Noise’

“Platte Cove Road” released as first single, video from 13-song collection of previously unreleased material

Cover image of Basement Nosie by Christian Beach.
Basement Noise by Christian Beach (photo by Brian Kelley)

A longtime fixture of the New Jersey music scene, singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Christian Beach has announced the release date for Basement Noise, a 13-track collection of previously unreleased material recorded between the release of his 2009 solo debut album and his 2020 EP, DoubleLife. The digital album is expected to be available January 1, 2021.

A video for the lead single “Platte Cove Road” has premiered on Beach’s YouTube channel, as well as on his Facebook, Twitter and Instagram profiles. It can be streamed or purchased from Beach’s Bandcamp site.

“After releasing DoubleLife, I realized I had all of these demos—some more polished than others—from projects I had worked on since releasing my first solo record in 2009,” said Beach. “I had been performing many of these songs over the years, but they weren’t available anywhere so I decided to correct that.

DoubleLife was born from a desire to hone my skills as a producer, so this project is a bit of an extension of that,” added Beach.

The first single, “Platte Cove Road,” was written during a mountain excursion. “A few years ago, I went on a solitary hike in a remote area in the Catskills. Not long into the journey, the weather took a turn for the worse. The sky opened up, and torrents of rain cascaded down the tall pines and flooded the narrow walking trail,” said Beach. “It felt as though the ghosts of the forest beckoned and ached to be heard, so I wrote Platte Cove Road in my head on the way back down the mountain.”

Basement Noise – Track Listing:
“Odd Jobs”
“Platte Clove Road”
“Running From A Ghost”
“Glory is No Disguise”
“Basement Noise”
“Divide and Conquer”
“Old John Browne”
“Missing Link”
“Paper Ships” (Live at 2015 Toms River Music & Arts Festival)
“Runner Up”
“Road Less Travelled”
“Tent City”

All songs written, performed and produced by Christian Beach except:

  • “Basement Noise” – Gorgo Beach, bass; Michael Scotto, drums; John Pfeiffer, co-producer
  • “Divide and Conquer” – Gorgo Beach, banjo
  • “Paper Ships” (Live at 2015 Toms River Music & Arts Festival) – Gorgo Beach, bass; Brian Kelley, accordion; John Pfeiffer, guitar; Michael Scotto, drums

“Platte Cove Road” – Christian Beach (Official Music Video)