New EP ‘DoubleLife’ available now

Six-song EP marks first formal collection of new material since 2009’s self-titled debut solo album

“Well worth the wait!” – Lazlo,

CBeach_DoubleLifeEPcoverA longtime fixture of the New Jersey music scene, singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Christian Beach has officially released DoubleLife, a six-song EP that represents Beach’s first official release since his acclaimed 2009 self-titled solo debut album.

To celebrate the release of DoubleLife, Beach will perform a few songs from his home studio on Facebook Live ( on Saturday, April 11, at 8 p.m.

DoubleLife is available in full, 24-bit audio via Beach’s Bandcamp page and available on streaming and download sites, such as iTunes, Amazon, Spotify and GooglePlay, through DistroKid.

“There is an Americana sound at the heart of DoubleLife,” says Beach, who wrote all six songs and played most of the instruments on the EP. “But there are a lot more layers to this EP than there were on my 2009 album. I did a lot of experimenting with sounds and textures.”

Despite the long gap between releases, Beach has continued to write and record new music over the years, with a few of those songs posted to his ReverbNation page.

Beach will also be a phone-in guest on’s “Stay Home with Lazlo” show at 6 p.m. tonight (Friday, April 10).  For more information, please visit

The driving force behind 1990s-era industrial-edged bands Slave of Id and Artists That Kill, and the more straight-ahead rock band Ton of Bricks in the early 2000s, Beach branched out on his own in 2005 as a singer-songwriter inspired by American roots and folk music influenced by Bob Dylan, Hank Williams Sr., The Band, and more contemporary artists like Jeff Tweedy. Beach’s first solo album, 2009’s Christian Beach, was ranked by music journalist Gary Wien as one of the top 100 albums by New Jersey artists between 2001 and 2010, with lead track “Open Spaces” in the No. 77 slot among the top 100 songs by New Jersey artists in that same span.

DoubleLife was mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music.

DoubleLife – Track Listing:

  1. “No Use Writing a Song” 4:18 (Beach)
  2. “Highway Sun” 3:55 (Beach)
  3. “Dead Man’s Weight” 3:33 (Beach)
  4. “Food on the Table” 3:59 (Beach)
  5. “Desert Places” 3:47 (Beach)
  6. “Dark Room” 4:30 (Beach)

All songs written, performed and produced by Christian Beach. Mandolin on “Desert Places” by Gorgo Beach. Mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music.


Click above to sample and stream/download DoubleLife

Watch the video for “Highway Sun”